Saturday, October 31, 2009

Happy Halloween!

In Daddy's shoes.
It's fishin' time!

My little astronaut!

Happy Halloween everyone!



Oh...not much to say it seems. I have some down time right now. Since we could not get the baby to sleep on his own this morning, I laid down with him for a little while and he woke and now daddy is laying down with him and since I hear nothing coming from in there, I resume baby went back to sleep. Awe so precious. So today is the day that we might go trick-or-treating...it will be cold tonight...and before I go I will post what my little sweet one will be for halloween this year. Man, I really gotta learn how to sew so I can sew he and I a costume next year. Anyway, since I don't have much to say, I will post some pics out here for whoever wants to see.

Thursday, October 8, 2009

Anniversaries and shots...

So today is my 4 year anniversary. YEAH...
Anyway, yesterday was doctor day for baby. And he got 4 shots. Now in the past, he has layed on the examination table and recieved his shots and cried like crazy but yesterday, I held him. And though he still cried...he did not cry quite as much. I was happy with this. Now he has to go back in 1 month to get the other flu shot. BLAH....but then we do not have to go back for 3 months...YAY! So he has been kind of irritable since then...we are dealing though.

Monday, October 5, 2009

Always a happy boy!







So we turned 6 months old last week. My goodness, we are sitting up on our own now and trying to grab anything and everything mommy gets near. We try to eat the remote control and mommy's or daddy's cell phone if mommy or daddy let's me have it. Daddy suggested they give me my own cell phone today. He's funny. I eat just about everything given to me. I like to drive mommy crazy by giving her bad looks when I eat my dinner at night but green beans just don't taste good. But you know, mommy has started distracting me with the tv so I don't notice as much what she is putting in my mouth now. She is going to learn that I will eat anything. She gave something new this morning (single grain oats)...it tasted better than that old rice cereal I have been eating. And mommy always loves taking pictures of me, I don't quite understand what she sees in that thing. I like the flash of light though....and the attention.



Anyway, it seems I want to write from my sons point of view. Yes, he is a great eater....



Last week I had him sitting in the crib while I pulled clothing from the closet he is too big for and he was sitting up right next to the side of the crib acting like he wanted to pull up on the crib. I guess that will be what happens next.



So news to post....my sister-in-law is preggars with a little boy and soemthing I have never seen before....she and my brother have known about this or about 2 weeks and he already has a full wardrobe. My brother asked me the other day....Ha...made me laugh...if Michael Henry was wearing 6 month old clothes b/c he is 6 months. HA HA HA! I told him that right at that moment, he had on 9 month pants and a 12 month onesie....I told him it depends on the brand but most likely your child will be wearing clothes bigger than his age.



So my friend Ranya out in Cali is also having a boy. He is due the day after Michael Henry (3/21/09, but came on 3/27/09) was due, 3/22/10. The sister-in-laws is due 2/22/09.



And then my friend Wendy is preggars as well....but she has already 3 boys and we find out this friday what this one is....I can't wait!!!

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Food and stuff!

So we are trudging our way through the food...this week the new stuff has been apple with blueberry...I have been bad about introducing a new food and then 2-3 days later introducing something else. So I have been speeding through the foods I can buy in the store....and man! does he love to eat or what.?!?! We have tried bananas, green beans, peas (yuck!), pears, peaches, squash, applesauce, and apple blueberry and b/c he was so ultra fussy today, he got to try some of mamas mashed potatoes off the buffet earlier today. I must say he is a huge lover of food! Oh and last week he mastered sitting up unassisted. Now we still have our moments where we fall back and occasionally hit our head on things like the kitchen floor (I won't put him down there again)...I had a blanket on the floor but apparently that did not provide the right amount of padding that he needed to keep from hurting himself. Anyway...tis enough or me today. I have lots more pics...but I need to download them on to the computer. Will try to do that later this week!

Friday, September 11, 2009

Look alikes and food

So ever since I have showed people this picture...everyone says he has my eyes! Finally...something of me showing through. Most people say...oh he looks just like Mike. And I will admit it, he does totally favor him more than me but perhaps that will change somewhat in the future...
So in the eating arena...we have tried...bananas, peaches, prunes, apples, pears, butternut squash, green beanies, and sweet peas. He dislikes peas but seems to like all the rest....oh and I almost forogt...carrots. He loves carrots. I made the squash and carrots myself and he does not like what I made for him.....but I also made him pears and he ate those up. THe other foods have been store bought baby food. I will try again though.

Since MH is getting a little impatient with me, I am going to say...ta.ta...for now!

Wednesday, September 2, 2009

Eating prunes and greeny beanies

So the kid is already walking....see above...

He did not seem to mind prunes...he is such a cute eater....and he even seems to eat the stuff even when he is not too thrilled about the stuff he is eating....see below.






So here I am back again...trying to get this update in again....but I hate it when I come out with good words only to have them blown away into space and never seen or heard from again.

So to rephrase everything I wrote earlier...
Michael Henry is now 5 months and 1 week old. Man how the time does fly. It seems like it has been awhile since he was born....but then again it almost seems like just yesterday. It how now been almost 2 months since I quit my job and I do miss it...mostly miss the people...but I can't imagine raising this kid and having to work a full time job as well b/c raising this kid is a full time job.
Anyway....the docs said at 4 months he could start rice cereal and ate that up completely. Loved it! THen at almost 5 months doc said I could start him on single fruits and veggies...right around this time which was last week....MH seemed to go on a pooping strike. He did not poop any for 3 days straight and then pooped once on monday and then not again until friday....and let me tell you, I think his body was taking it's own sweet time morphing his poop into some disgusting, peanut buttery, grainy thick looking poop and awful smelling....I bet it only gets worse from here since he will only be eating more and more solids. Needless to say his lack of pooping made me nervous even though I hear that it is perfectly normal for breastfed babies to not poop everyday even though mine had up until that pooping strike. I don't want him to have my problems in that neighborhood ever but who knows, he may inherit my problems in the pooping department.
Anyway....so we helped him along. I tried apple juice, prunes....I tried backing off on the rice cereal....I had even introduced him to bananas and that may or may not cause constipation so then I backed off on the bananas and gave him prunes, prunes, and more prunes. So you see he has tried ...bananas, prunes, and now he has tried green beans, sweet peas (why do they call them sweet peas....they are not sweet!), and butternut squash...he seems to gag on the latter 2 of those veggies...so I am think I am going to have thin them out a bit more. The peas I bought in the store; the butternut squash I made homemade. But they still seem a bit too thick for him.

I think for the most part that is what I wrote earlier today that was so rudely deleted.
The pics in the next post were taken between 4-5 months. Isn't he the cutest?

Update....hardly!







I had a new post all written and one wrong click of the mouse and BAM...it's gone!

So since baby is awake now...I can't write....I will just post the pics I had loaded which are gone as well...I will have to reload.....I thought drafts were saved in here...

Tuesday, August 18, 2009

Seriously...

You know perhaps it is not meant for me to be a blogger. I forget to write. Long periods of time come and go without me adding anything to this thing. And I would like to write but I was just on facebook and I saw the link to this site and it just hit me, I don't ever update. Bummer. I just don't have the time. We will see if I can get back in the swing of things somehow...but not right now at almost 4 in the morning. Lata.

Friday, July 24, 2009

Back to the grind...

Alrighty then....Since I was here last, I have quit my job (last day was 7/6/09). YAY! My dad asked me if I was bored....BORED...hec..no, how can you get bored when you have a baby to mess with all day plus I like to think about dinner for that night and what little thing around the house I can do to try and organize it better or make it look nicer or help out so my hubby and I can get our house on the market.
Since I was on here....I have taken the baby to the doctor to be vaccinated...that is something I could deal without hearing or seeing. I did not like him screaming. And he has been fussy all week. Unusually fussy all week long. And we were sleeping pretty well for the 3 days prior to his doc's appointment. Sleeping from 10:30 to 5:30-6'ish. That is pretty good if you ask me. But since the vaccinations...nope...have to get up at least once during the night to feed him...and ususally I have help. But last night the husband was too tired to help so I did it all myself.

Welp, baby is right next to me so I guess I should get back to this later...perhaps I will post sooner this time and with some videos and pictures.

ciao

Monday, June 22, 2009

First day back...

This is my first day back to work...I am struggling. I don't know how working mothers do it getting up in the middle of the night with their kids and then working all day just to come home and start the routine all over again. Thank goodness it is only for 2 weeks. That's right...I am working 2 weeks and then will be off for good for awhile. May homeschool the kid(s) in the future so that will put off going back to work for awhile still. Anyway...had to take a break since I am so dead tired. But only a little more than 3 hours to go for today and only 9 days left.
Talk soon...hope to get another video on here soon. Hubby swears Michael Henry said I love you on our video...yes, it is on the video so you guys can tell me what you think.
Ciao!

Wednesday, June 17, 2009

A sort of update...

We have so many more videos to post...just no time to term them into the proper format to load here. Perhaps one day we will get to it. We just had a LONG night of crying...well, I guess he only cried for almost an hour and half straight...with a few breaks here and there. In the end, my hubby succeeded in getting him to sleep with him waking up just less than an hour later. THat is why I am currently awake.
Anyhow, I go back to work Monday...not looking too forward to that. But it is only for 2 weeks and I will be done with working for the state for now. Who knows, perhaps I will go back and work for them later on in life if I don't find a better career path between now and when my kids go to college.
Well, I will post more later...sleep is calling my name. Maybe I will fall asleep this time.
Toodles!

Friday, May 29, 2009

Not keeping up with things here but will try better...

I am not doing so well at keeping up with posts here it is just I get online so little these days that there is so much to do when I do get on and somethings fall off the wagon.

But Mike and I have been playing with a new toy I ordered using my Suntrust credit card points. It is a mini Flip camcorder. It is tini but I thought with a new baby it might come in handy. So I am going to try and load the first video we took....I love it.

Friday, April 24, 2009

A few pictures to post...

Today, my hubby took off and we went to the zoo with the baby! I don't know how he felt about being there but we had fun. We only stayed for an hour or so b/c 1. we had to feed the baby again soon and 2. it was HOT! Today I think the high got up to 88 degrees. Summer starting WAY too soon if you ask me. Anyway...I'll show the few pictures I have to post here.

Monday, April 20, 2009

BABY!!!

Sorry for my long hiatus. I don't exactly have much time to get online these days. Never thought breastfeeding would take up so much of my time.
Michael Henry Barcroft was born March 27, 2009 at 11:18 am weighing in at 8 lbs 10 3/4 ounces and 21 1/4 inches long. Such a sweet baby and so alert. But the breastfeeding has sent me for a loop. He was getting nothing out of me for the first few days of life and therefore ended up losing an entire pound in 3 days despite the pediatrician at the hospital telling me everything was ok. I met with a lactation consultant on day 3 and she has helped me so much. As of last Wednesday, little Michael Henry weighed 9 lbs 15 ounces. So he is back to where he should be. Of course, along the way, I have gotten mastitus...a breast infection that they are treating with antibiotics and frequent nursing and pumping. So I am very busy woman these days.
So whenever I figure out where the pictures are on this computer, I will post some.
Later!

Monday, March 23, 2009

Still...no baby!

Alright, the due date has come and gone. Still no baby! Some people at church yesterday just knew we would be back for another Sunday and others thought, they would not see us again. Once even thought we would go into labor in the middle of the day and not be back for the afternoon. I just look at them like, who knows what or when it will happen...well, I know who knows. God knows...but he does not share that information with me or anyone else for that matter. I keep saying I hate playing the waiting game, but I would rather go naturally than have to be induced at midnight, Friday morning. But if that is the way it has to be, than so be it. I should be posting baby pics by this time next week or at least by sometime next week.
You want to hear something funny....just boggles my mind. Friday night my husband and I went to see my mother-in-law and she hands me a check...I was thinking, more money to go buy something for my baby??? No, she was giving me money to go out and get something for my niece whose birthday is April 9. I was thinking you chose now to give me money when I could have a baby at anytime...you want me to go shopping for my niece now??? So, perhaps if I have some energy, we might run to Baby's R Us tonight and grab something for her. Perhaps take back some of the stuff I need to take back and buy some other stuff...that is, IF I feel up to it!

Saturday, March 21, 2009




The pictures of me in red are of me at 38 weeks. I know, took me long enough to post these.







The pictures of me in green are of me today at 40 weeks. Today I am full term....Michael Henry's due date is today! Yet he still finds it more comfortable to stay inside me then to come out and say, HELLO, world!

Nursery Pictures














The above pictures are pictures of the nursery. There will be curtains on the windows at some point (pirate themed). That is a project my mother was looking forward to so when she feels like doing some sewing, she will make us some curtains for his room. The mobile for the crib was also something I thought was adorable and needed to be emphasized in a pic. The room was actually painted by my mother and cousin and they did such a great job. I think it looks like a perfect little boys room. There is still some tweaking that needs to be done to the room but this is what we have so far!


Wednesday, March 18, 2009

Still no baby!

The due date is still 3 days away and still no baby. Today has been the first really tough day and it is so pretty outside. I would love to go outside and walk and I need to walk but walking is uncomfortable. I wonder if I should just go home and sleep.
I know I need to take some pics of the nursery if my hubby would just go ahead and put the last set of blinds up. And then take another pic of me at almost completely full term and post that as well.
Welp, I don't have a lot to say here. My mother did come home last Thursday, the 12th. She is doing really well at staying calm. Not too much excitement for her although even after laughing a lot her blood pressure is still relatively low which is good. The nurses said that laughter is great medicine. She still will not be able to be at the delivery of her first grandchild like we hoped. But she is alive and that is the MOST IMPORTANT thing! I hope she can be present for the next grandbaby if the Lord blesses us with another. Hopefully I will get back on and post some other stuff tonight.

Thursday, March 5, 2009

No baby yet...but some not so good news to go along with it!

So, I am 16 days from my due date today. My ankles are swelling and I think my hands are swelling as well. But the doc did not have much to say about that except drink lots of fluids and stay away from the salt. So I can do that. No sweat. But the last few days I have been stressin' b/c my momma is in ICU at St. THomas Hospital with a tear in her aorta. I am pretty sure nobody reads this yet so I will not go into all the deals...all the details are posted on my profile in facebook. If anyone wants to add me there, you can find me under my email kelsters99@yahoo.com . So...aside from me still prepping for baby, I have been running back and forth to the hospital during designated visiting hours to see my mom. And she was and wanted to be a birthing coach. Of course, my doc said that mom's never make good birthing coaches. But then again, she said neither do husbands either. And my husband is all I have left. I have already stated that I don't want my MIL in there who expressed an interest in that arena and I am sure my step-mother would do it if I asked her, but I don't want her in there either. So, perhaps a friend who has been there before can help out or it will just be me and my hubby which is fine. Mom thinks she will still be able to do it...but we will just see about that.
Anyway, have to get back to work...
Oh but doc says I measure exactly the way I should...37 cm at 37 weeks and 4 days. Good heart beat and the hiccups going when we listened in on him. And no dilation as of yesterday.

Friday, February 27, 2009

The HUGE belly!







Oh, I feel so huge. I finally remembered to get my hubby to take new pictures of me last night at 36 weeks and 5 days. He just keeps commenting on how HUGE my belly is. Am I supposed to take that as a compliment? B/c I'm not quite sure yet.

Thursday, February 26, 2009

Not breeched!

So I went to the doctor yesterday and my baby is no longer breech. My prayers were answered and so were everybody else's. I had everybody praying that this baby would turn. The doc thinks he has dropped a little as well. I'm not sure if I can tell that this has happened. I will say it is slightly more painful to walk this week then it was last week and my MIL told me last night that it appeared to her as if my stomach was shaped a little bit different than it was on Monday night. Funny...I can't tell any of these things. I do know though in church trying to sing is a bit more difficult each and everyday and I get winded so much easier than I used to. And I hated it...my husband woke me up this morning out of such a sound sleep. I was OUT, why I can't be this out of it at 2-3 in the morning, I don't know. It is frustrating to say the least. Anyway, since I am still working and my hubby and I carpool, he had to get me up to go to work. If we did not carpool...I would still be in bed right now. LOL!
On the nursery front, while my hubby and I were having our taxes done on Saturday, my mother and step-father came to our house and set up the crib! YAY! One more thing done in the nursery. One thing I need to get on is packing my hospital bag...waiting for some nursing clothes to come in to pack and to get everything else together that I need to prep for Michael Henry's arrival. He looked so perfectly content in the ultrasound yesterday. His foot was up by his head; my hubby said he must have been sucking on his toes or something. Ha...you never know. I had no idea he was head down...he has not kicked me in the ribs. I will say his movements are slightly more painful than the last couple of weeks probably because he has strong, long legs. It felt the other day like he was trying to come out of me through the belly button. That hurt a little.

Anyways, I should get back to reading this application. These people want their permit by tomorrow or Monday at the latest. Grrr!

Friday, February 20, 2009

Breech...

Alright, 2 weeks have gone by and no baby yet. Of course, his due date is still about 4 weeks away. We went to the doctor about a week and a half ago and reconfirmed that our baby is in the breech position. I don't know if I went into labor now if he would try to come out feet first or butt first. They say they may do an ultrasound next week just to figure out exactly where he is sitting within me. Maybe they can also see if I have funky shaped uterus or not...one conducive to him flipping or one where he may just stay where he is comfy and cozy. We met with a lactation consultant early this week and she asked me something about the way my uterus is shaped and I told her that I don't know anything about the way my uterus is shaped. I just know my last annual exam was REALLY painful if that says anything at all.
So anyway, other news. The nursery is off to a start. I never really thought I would have much of a nursery but my mother and cousin came to the house last week and painted the room for us. YAY! I was happy about that. Now I want to see stuff in it. All it has in it now is a bookshelf. I will take pictures and post them when we get more stuff in there which will hopefully be rather soon! So that is all for now. I have another baby shower at my husbands work at 1 today...more stuff but I am looking forward to the cake. That is terrible of me I know...I hope they have a cake. Hmmm...

Monday, February 9, 2009

Another day...another blog

Since I have tried the Xanga.com 'thing', I can't really get people to follow that one. I thought I would try this one and start it a afresh with news of Michael Henry. This will be a blog mainly about him but also about the lives of his parents too. This is a new journey for us, a first baby for us. I am sure it will be a blast once I get used to being a new mommy. He has not entered this world yet outside of me that is. BUT it should be in the near future, today being 2/9/09 and he is due sometime around 3/21/09. There is this debate whether he will come early or late...only God knows. My hubby says he will come when he is ready to come and not sooner or later. So we shall see about that. Anyhow, I will post a picture of me 4 weeks ago. I need to update that and my mother got a great picture of me sort of dressed up yesterday for a baby shower and I will just have to see if I can get her to email the picture to me so I can post it here.